SC College Football Hall of Fame Finalists announced

Seventeen Palmetto State football greats from various eras and colleges have been named finalists for the inaugural class of the South Carolina College Football Hall of Fame. The members will be inducted during the South Carolina College All Star Bowl on March 23. The list of 17 was created from voting from game organizers as well as members of South Carolina media outlets. More than 40 South Carolina gridiron greats were nominated for the initial class. The finalists include: Clemson’s Banks McFadden, Terry Kinard, Frank Howard, Steve Fuller, Jeff Davis, Bennie Cunningham and Danny Ford; the University of South Carolina’s George Rogers and Sterling Sharpe; South Carolina State University’s Harry Carson, Willie Jeffries and Donnie Shell; Furman’s Sam Wyche; Michigan State’s George Webster; Newberry’s Glen Cumbee and University of Tampa’s Fred Solomon. This group represents not only players and coaches from South Carolina football programs, but Palmetto State natives who played collegiately at out-of-state schools. The game will be played onMarch 23, 2013 at 3pm at North Greenville University. Former Clemson head coach Danny Ford will lead the Upper State team and South Carolina State legend Willie Jeffries will lead the Lower State team.