Awards presented to OC Rescue Squad Members

Lynn Wilbanks, a member of Mountain Rest Rescue Squad, was named the Oconee County Emergency Services “Rescue Squad Member of the Year” for 2012, during the annual Rescue Squad Awards Banquet at Gignilliat Gym in Seneca.  Wilbanks has been a member of Mountain Rest Fire Station since 1998, Mountain Rest Rescue since 1991, and Chief of the rescue squad for 16 years.  During 2012, Wilbanks responded to 76 out of 155 First Responder calls in Mountain Rest.  Under Chief Wilbanks leadership, members covered 94% of responder calls (146 out of 155) in 2012.  In addition,  he played a major role in getting much needed repairs done to the rescue squad building and new equipment purchased to enhance volunteer’s efforts to adequately respond to many types of calls.  This award is presented annually to a member of the Oconee County Rescue Squad System based on his/her major contributions to the citizens of Oconee County.  The winner is selected based on nominations received from the ten countyRescue Squad Divisions. Other rescue squad members receiving recognition and plaques as members of the year from each Rescue Squad Division were: Carrie Patterson, Seneca Rescue; Tammy Wilbanks, Salem Rescue; Kam Myers, Oakway Rescue; Wayne Garland, Walhalla Rescue; Tim Nix, Westminster Rescue; Del Collings, Keowee Rescue; Mike Zambito, Corinth-Shiloh Rescue; Shane McClung, Dive Team; and Steven Adams, Special Rescue Team. In addition, the Outstanding Service Award for dedication and service above and beyond the call of duty was given to Wayne Garland from Walhalla Rescue. The Coordinators Award for dedication and support given to the Rescue Squad Coordinators was presented to Bob Kinder, Dive and Special Rescue. These awards are presented annually by Oconee County Emergency Services to individuals who have provided extraordinary services to the community. All Oconee County Rescue Squad members are dedicated volunteers. They unselfishly give of their time and unique talents to assist and care for citizens.  In addition, all rescue squad members devote numerous hours in the evening and on weekends for recertification classes and new training. The awards banquet was made possible because of generous donations from the following sponsors:  Wal-Mart and Blue Ridge Electric, Sandvik and Safe Industries.