Elections in Oconee County

As of noon on Monday, April 1st, a second Democrat, Bryon L. Best, has entered the race for the 3rd District congressional seat, which is being vacated this year by long-time Republican Rep. Jeff Duncan. Bryon L. Best joins Frances Guldner in seeking the Democratic nomination.

The Republican field is crowded with eight candidates: Sheri Biggs, Kevin Bishop, Mark Burns, Franky Franco, Phil Healy, Stewart Jones, Michael LaPierre, and Elspeth Snow Murday. Michael Bedenbaugh is running under the banner of the Alliance Party.

In state office races, the only incumbent among Oconee’s three-member delegation facing opposition is Republican Bill Sandifer of House District Two, who is being challenged by fellow Republican, Adam Duncan. The solicitor’s race has three candidates: Micah Black, Beth Blundy, and Danny Fulmer.

There are two-way contests among Republicans for each of the three available Oconee County Council offices. The District Two race is between incumbent Matthew Durham and newcomer India Lancaster. The District Four race is between incumbent Julian Davis and newcomer Tommy James. The District Five race is between incumbent Glenn Hart and newcomer Gwen McPhail.

Gena Acree and Tonya Keller are vying for the position of county treasurer. All other available Oconee offices, including sheriff and coroner, have no challengers.